Thrift Ninja Live!

NinjaDistance

Greetings, all.

Here marks my first post as Thrift Ninja.  I’ve been thinking about what to write in this post for a long time.

Last year I was earning $60,000 per year at a startup.  This year I’m making (gulp) $33,000 per year at a nonprofit.  Am I infinitely happier?  You bet.  Is the transition rough?  Definitely.

This blog is about the journey to financial independence.  Ie, the idea that even though you aren’t making a ton of money at your job, you can still not only make it financially, but that you can still strive for long term goals, such as saving, home ownership, and investing.  I had to make a TON of lifestyle changes to make this past year happen, but it can be done.  The high-stress startup job was bad for my health, soul, and quality of life.  My current gig feeds my soul and my quality of life has gone up exponentially, but now I have to be more creative with my finances.  This will include exploring other means of income besides my day job (the ever favorite “side hustle”) and minimizing my consumption and being aware of my day-to-day expenses.

Excited to start this journey.

Leave a comment